There’s Nothing Mythical About a Substantial Petite Sirah

The other day I was driving from one lesson to another with my 14 year old son. He was talking about Greek myths, something he’s been fascinated with for the past few years. Then he said, ‘You know, Mom, to us the Greek myths are just entertaining little stories, but to the ancient Greeks… they really believed the myths.’ Then he was quiet for several minutes. I was glad of that, because I knew the question that was coming next, and I needed time to think. I wanted my answer to come out smoothly and seamlessly without a moment’s hesitation, and for that I needed time to prepare.
The night before I had opened a bottle of Guenoc Petite Sirah from Lake County, California. I found it at my local wine store on sale for only $6, so I wasn’t expecting much. But what I got surprised me. The loads of dark fruits such as black cherries and plums, swam seamlessly in and out of the smooth, slightly peppery, rich body of wine over undercurrents of cinnamon. The Guenoc Petite Sirah was intense and tannic, but just a little too blunt to be intriguing. What it lacked in complexity it made up for in it’s substantial, robust and very satisfying flavor.
‘Do you think 1000 years from now people will look at the Bible the way we look at Greek mythology?’
That was the question I’d expected. Thoughts that had been swimming around in my mind for the past 15 years, suddenly lined up in clear order. Without hesitating I answered, ‘That absolutely could happen. Every culture has to address the God-shaped hole we all have in our psyches. You know in the old testament how it says no one can see the face of God? So, we create stories to try to understand God. Those stories are a reflection of our understanding of God, but they’re not God. All religions are man-made attempts at understanding God. It’s like if you had ten different artists paint a picture of a tree. You’d have ten different paintings. They’d all be reflections of the tree, but none would be the tree itself. And none would be the correct interpretation of the tree, though each would be correct for the individual painter. ‘
I knew it wasn’t the most complex or elegant answer to the questions he’s pondering. But I hoped it would be substantial enough to satisfy him for now.

Leave a Reply

