Quest for Bordeaux

There are things in life you know you’re supposed to love. Bordeaux is one of them. Conversations with your children is another.

Chateau Roudier, 2003

Bordeaux is the wine that made Thomas Jefferson fall in love with wine. From southwestern France, Bordeaux is a blend of Merlot, Cabernet Franc, Cabernet Sauvignon, Petite Verdot and Malbec. The United States makes a Bordeaux blend, but because it’s not from Bordeaux, it can’t be named that. Instead, it’s called Meritage. Robert Mondavi makes a delicious one. So does Sterling. Up until last night I had yet to taste a French Bordeaux, a true Bordeaux that I really loved.

Sometimes my little boy, who is now almost fifteen years old and six feet tall, will sit down and start chattering with me about all kinds of things. Most times I absolutely relish the conversations, knowing I don’t have many years of chldhood left with him. In fact, at this point, he’s more man than boy. The boy peaks out intermittently and reaches out for the company of his mom. But mostly, he’s absorbed in his growing independence. So, when the boy peaks out, I sit down and listen intently…most of the time. Sometimes I disappoint myself.

My disappointment with true Bordeaux changed with Chateau Roudier from Montagne-Saint-Emilion, a right bank Bordeaux. The right bank Bordeaux blends are heavier with Merlot. Left bank blends use more Cabernet Sauvignon.

Chateaux Roudier is a deep, ruby red color with a cherry tobacco nose and a rich, tangy soil flavor. It is deep and complex with a ‘gout de terroir,’ taste of the soil, the earth from which the grapes sprung. The gout de terroir is what gives a wine its identity. It’s something that can’t be found in wines that are mass produced from the grapes of many vineyards. In this beautiful Bordeaux, the flavor of the soil has been absorbed by the grapes.

Sometimes, when my boy wants to talk, I’m absorbed with something myself. As his independence grows, so does mine. I’m beginning to return to the phase of life where I can complete whole thoughts without interruption. It’s exhilirating. But sometimes I have to remember to peak out from my own absorbing thoughts to listen to my little boy.

This entry was posted in wine.

Leave a Reply

