Changing Places

???????????????????????At the dinner table the other night, my 17 year old son asked me, ‘Do you know what ‘nom’ means?’ Before I could answer that I had no clue, my 13 year old daughter interjected, ‘Bob! Don’t tell her what it means! You know she’ll use it!’ But my son had a good defense ready, ‘She’s going to use it anyway. It’s better she learn it from us than on the street.’ Did my children and I just trade places?

Primus is a Chilean wine that was recommended on The Vintage Idiot’s blog. The wine she reviewed was 100% Carmenere. The one I tried is a blend of 39% Cabernet Sauvignon, 28% Carmenere, 23% Syrah and 10% Merlot from the Colchagua Valley. It opened with aromas of pepper and berries. The flavors offered cherry, chocolate, oak, smoke, spice and earth. And the flavors kept on coming. The Primus blend has great balance and a solid structure with loads of flavor that evolve over time. It is mainly made up of Bordeaux grapes with the exception of the Syrah from Rhone. But, Carmenere, though originally from Bordeaux, has become the signature grape of Chile, and is little used in its place of origin. It was thought that she had been wiped off the face of the earth by Phylloxera, but as it turns out, she had just grown up and moved on to Chile. Carmenere, the lost grape of Bordeaux, has changed places, and is doing beautifully in her new home.

‘Nom,’ in case you’re wondering means ‘eat,’ as in the noise one makes when eating, ‘nom, nom, nom.’ And both my son and daughter are right. I will use it. I will go out for noms with my gal pals, or, as my teenage daughter would say, ‘my bros.’ Mainly, I use teenage slang around my children in order to annoy and embarrass them. It def drives them totes cra, cra…whateves.

10 comments on “Changing Places

  1. Clever, you!

    I had teenagers once, they’re now nearly 30. It helps tremendously in our present relationship, to remember that I knew then, as I know now, what’s happening (they didn’t believe it then, but they definitely believe it now!)

    • foxress says:

      So, as they get older, are they harder to embarrass? I guess I can always wear plaids with stripes, ‘What? It’s clean!’

      • I’m counting on the fact that the kids never get too old for us to embarrass them. My grandmother was a master at embarrassing my mother, when she was in her 80’s and my mother in her early 60’s. We’ve got years to go, before we could possibly outlive that.

  2. Carmenere … nom, nom, nom!

  3. aFrankAngle says:

    Thanks for confirming Primus blend being a great value.

  4. aFrankAngle says:

    I bought my bottle yesterday … and will open soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

