Easy to Like

Seven Falls ChardonnayWaluke Slope is the warmest AVA in Washington State. The warmest AVA in Washington State produces some beautiful, lush fruit, both red and white.

Some wines are very easy to like. In the back of my mind I always think that I’m not supposed to like lush, fruit-forward wines. So, when I have one in front of me, and it completely enthralls me, I feel just a little guilty. That’s what happened today. We were out to lunch with some friends that we don’t get to socialize with very often. Even though we don’t spend a lot of time together, our friends are always so easy to be with. They are both so warm, charming, funny, and such wonderful conversationalists.

Most everyone at the table ordered fish. They asked me to order the wine. “Do you all like white wine?” I asked. Some people don’t. But with salmon and sole being prepared for us, I didn’t think a red, even a rosé would do.

As I quickly read through the wine menu, a Seven Falls Chardonnay from Waluke Slope caught my eye. I thought a warmer region Chardonnay would have both the lushness and the crispness to complement the salmon and the sole, respectively. Yes, yes it did! The aromas were of spiced pear drizzled with caramel, oak, and vanilla all wrapped in a buttery texture with a core of fresh acidity. It was beautiful, a white wine to linger over in pure, albeit, mildly guilty pleasure. This is a wine that is very easy to like.

7 comments on “Easy to Like

  1. Kay says:

    Good wine, good friends and a great time!!!

  2. talkavino says:

    This is so true, Linda. I have exact same notion in the back of my mind that I’m not supposed to like fruit-forward wines. And then when presented with luscious fruit and most importantly, perfect balance, the inner child says “oh, yes, that is delicious, and I want more!”.

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  3. The older I get, the less I’m concerned about appearing sophisticated. But I’m not yet old enough to be completely impervious to what I’m “supposed to” think, say and do…

    Don’t you wish we could just shuck off those dumb expectations all the time, and simply like what we like? I’ve been hanging out doing volunteer work at a day services provider for adults with a wide range of developmental disabilities, where people are teaching me to simply like what I like. Yesterday I shared a thanksgiving meal with them, and sat next to Tommy, whom I hadn’t met before. We talked a little about how good the food tasted (he was unabashedly LOVING his turkey drumstick). At the end of the meal, he turned to me, and with the most sincere smile, said, “I like you.”

    He set a fine example for me.

    I’m glad you enjoyed the wine. Happy Thanksgiving.

  4. mimi says:

    I honestly think red wine drinkers think it’s taboo to admit to liking anything but red. But that’s just me, cause I happen to love whites – especially for sipping!

Leave a Reply

