No Divas

domainepreauds2No Divas

It has been a long time since I have blogged. The reason for that is because I have started working outside the home. I began this blog when I began my wine studies as a way to share my interest in wine as well as my experience as a stay at home mom. While my wine studies began as a hobby, they have led me back into the working world. My good friend got me a job where she works at Total Wine. It is a fantastic place to work. I spend my days talking to people about wine, selling wine, merchandising wine, teaching classes on wine, in short I am fully immersed in wine and I love it!

I also love the generous discount on wine, the frequent wine tastings at the store and the free monthly bottles of wine. We are regularly given wine to taste, evaluate and make notes on. One of those free bottles was Domaine des Preauds Pouilly Fuisse, 2013. That wine is downright inspiring. Pale gold in color with a beautiful balance of crisp fruit and creamy body, its aromas are golden delicious apples with a hint of lemon, caramel, ginger and vanilla finishing with a splash of minerality. This wine exemplifies everything beautiful that a Chardonnay can be. No one aroma or element overwhelms the other. It is a well played symphony with no divas.

The thing I love most about working for Total Wine is the people with whom I work. We are a group of wine enthusiasts at different stages in our wine studies, but all there to share our knowledge and interest. That’s not to say that there isn’t some friendly competition (Brooke, I’m talking to you) but the competition never leaves the bounds of support and camaraderie. In short we are all working together harmoniously for the love of wine.

This entry was posted in wine.

18 comments on “No Divas

  1. Congrats on your new job! Pouilly Fuisse are some of my fav whites. This one sounds great!

  2. renobarb says:

    It’s fantastic that you’ve found a “job” that incorporates your passions.

  3. How wonderful to get paid for what you love doing! Congratulations!! Best of luck to you in 2016 – may it be a vintage year!

  4. Congratulations on returning to the workforce . . . I’ve often thought about a job at our Total Wine!! Good to know they treat you well.

    • foxress says:

      I highly recommend it. One other big positive is they work my schedule around my daughter’s dance schedule, so I am still able to get her to her lessons and events, my other part time job. I cannot ask for more than that!

  5. Duff's Wines says:

    I am in Naples Fla. quite often and wander the Total Wine there for far too many hours. It’s a b;last. And I appreciate the staff there – their expertise and assistance. I’m sure you’ll be a great help at your TW.
    And, welcome back to the land of the blog.

    • foxress says:

      Thanks, Bill! Before I started working there, I used Total Wine as an extension of my study guide. It is a great place to learn regions and producers. Cheers to you!

  6. I was just thinking of you the other day and wondering about the silence. Linda, I LOVED working wine retail- few things brought me as much joy as a customer returning to rave about a wine I’d put into their hands. I’m delighted for you- your customers are so fortunate to benefit from your knowledge and passion!

    • foxress says:

      Julie, thank you! I absolutely love it, all of it. And it’s a huge help to my studies. Thanks for stopping by. I am so looking forward to reading your book…just a few more weeks!

  7. I was actually thinking just a few days ago about where you might have gone. So happy to hear about your new job and to read your foray back into the blogosphere!

  8. You may be the envy of a lot of your peers, enjoy the job and all the best.

  9. Mukul Manku says:

    Pouilly Fuisse, being southern most wine region of Burgundy surely adds a unique character to its Chardonnay. Nice write up. Enjoyed reading it.

Leave a Reply

